classes of rudraksha

Tuesday, July 12, 2011
Grouping of rudraksha beads based on historical evidence
Shiva puran classifies rudraksha into four groups

Shiva Purana on rudraksha classification

Shiva Purana classifies rudraksha by Color and the number of faces (vaktra) possessed by them. In the former, they are white (Sveta), red (Straight), yellow (pita) and black (Krishna). these corresponding to the four Varna, Brahmins, Kshatriyas, vaisyas and sudr respectively and is to be worn accordingly (Vidyesvara Samhita 25, 12, 11, 44).

four Varnas namely Brahmins, Kshatriyas, vaisyas and sudr

Agni puran classifies rudraksha into three

Agni puran on classification of rudraksha

Agni Purana parts rudraksha in four classes. They are Siva, Sikh, Jyoti and Savitra. And further breakdown of the four varieties In each of these are also listed.

Classifies into four groups

Classification of rudraksha based on color
Further proposal from Shiva Purana

The second type of class if blues, proposed by the Shiva Purana, is dependent on number of faces found in rudraksha. both Siva Purana (Vidyesvara Samhita) and Padma Purana allocate money even to each of these 14 varieties. So as per the purans there are 14 classes of rudraksha. Classes of rudraksha can be from different view of color or use also. Classes of rudraksha can be based on the society work groups like brahmins etc.

Dependent on number of faces found in rudraksha

Details on the rudraksha tree
Rudraksha tree
Leave your comment